Cinders & Silence

Cinders & Silence


Author Tom Rafiner chronicles the events of Missouri’s “Burnt District” between 1854 and 1870.


Cinders & Silence tells the story of Missouri’ s”Burnt District”; the three counties of Jackson, Cass, and Bates along Missouri’s western border with Kansas. This territory was plunged from prosperity into devastation by the border conflict between Missourians and Kansans seeking revenge for wrongs done during the Kansas Territorial period from 1854-1861. Total destruction ensued after Quantrill’s bloody raid on Lawrence; triggering General Orders No. 11, which systematically depopulated the border counties. This book recovers the history and breaks the silence on this tragic period.

Additional information

Weight 1.5 lbs


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Cinders & Silence”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *